Coronavirus News Africa

National lockdown: No entry for non-South Africans from high-risk countries – Ramaphosa


South Africans arriving home from high-risk countries will have to be quarantined for 14 days, President Cyril Ramaphosa announced on Monday.

The travel restrictions were announced as part of a nationwide lockdown that will take effect on Thursday.

The lockdown includes several measures that will be implemented to combat the spread of Covid-19 to “flatten the curve”.

The restrictions will have an impact on South Africans and travellers arriving from high-risk countries.

“South African citizens and residents arriving from high-risk countries will automatically be placed under quarantine for 14 days,” Ramaphosa said.

Non-South Africans returning from high-risk countries would not be allowed entry, he added.

“Non-South Africans arriving on flights from high-risk countries that we prohibited a week ago will be turned back.”

Those already in the country will also be subjected to a 14-day quarantine period.

“International travellers, who arrived in South Africa after 9 March 2020 from high-risk countries, will be confined to their hotels until they have completed a 14-day period of quarantine,” Ramaphosa said.

READ |Here’s how you can make a donation to South Africa’s Covid-19 Solidarity Response Fund

Additionally, flights to Lanseria Airport in Gauteng will be suspended.

The restrictions follow a decision by the National Coronavirus Command Council to enforce a nationwide lockdown for 21 days.

“This is a decisive measure to save millions of South Africans from infection and save the lives of hundreds of thousands of people.

“While this measure will have a considerable impact on people’s livelihoods, on the life of our society and on our economy, the human cost of delaying this action would be far, far greater,” Ramaphosa said.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *